Our Staff


Vanessa McDowell CEO

Downtown Madison

101 E. Mifflin Street
Suite 100
Madison WI 53703
(608) 257-1436, option 2
Fax (608) 257-1439


Isaac Gomez Facilities Director
Darnell Jackson Maintenance Technician
Ricardo Morales Maintenance Technician
Derrick Taylor Facilities Manager


Angela Borman Accounting Assistant
Kate Perleberg Chief Financial Officer


Olivia “O” Clark Youth Programs Coordinator
Jael Currie Housing Director
Emily Daniels – Family Housing Stability Coordinator/Case Manager
OPEN Shelter Case Manager
Andrea Gaines Steps to Stability Lead Coordinator
Briana Hutton Rapid Rehousing Case Manager
OPEN Singles Housing Coordinator
Cortney Kallenberger – Third Street Case Manager
OPEN Residential Housing Manager
Jessica Oswald Rapid Rehousing Coordinator
Tamaha Shepherd-Jones Family Housing Stability Coordinator/Case Manager
Mai Thao Third Street Supervisor
Skyler Van De Weerd Community Housing Manager
Andrea White Steps to Stability Coordinator


OPEN Front Desk Manager
April Elvington
Property Manager
Angie Kier Receptionist
Katey Nelson Operations Director

Empowerment Center

2040 S. Park Street
Madison WI 53713
(608) 257-1436, option 3
Fax (608) 395-2598


Rhonda Schemm Human Resources Director

Development and Marketing

Danielle Bassing Volunteer & Events Coordinator
Sami Clausen-Ruppert Grants & Compliance Manager
Erin Farrar Development Coordinator
OPEN Donor Relations Manager
Jay Young Marketing & Events Manager
Andrea Zea Advancement Director

Employment Services & Transit

Jamie Adams YW Transit Manager
Saul Cortes Employment Services Coordinator/Case Manager
Aurelia Johnson Employment Services Coordinator/Case Manager
Aneesha Mitchell DLRP Coordinator
Ashley Moncrief Employment Services & Transit Director


Lexus Anderson-Carter EC Receptionist/Program Assistant

Race and Gender Equity

Semaj Sconiers Race & Gender Equity Practitioner
OPEN Race & Gender Equity Practitioner
Abha Thakkar Race & Gender Equity Practitioner
Libby Tucci Race & Gender Equity Practitioner – Lead
Geraldine Paredes Vasquez Race & Gender Equity Director

Restorative Justice

Bill Baldon Restorative Justice School Program Manager
Kiana Burnette Restorative Justice Community Program Manager
Eugenia Highland Granados Restorative Justice Director
Sam Jeschke School Restorative Justice Coordinator
Shirin Kestin School Restorative Justice Coordinator
Lauren Travis School Restorative Justice Coordinator
OPEN Community Restorative Justice Coordinator (Bilingual)
Orion Wells Restorative Justice Curator
Mya Williams Community Restorative Justice Coordinator